International Award Programme (Anugerah Remaja Perdana Rakan Muda)

The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award is the world’s leading youth achievement award, operating in over 140 countries and territories around the globe. The names of individual operating authorities often differ from nation to nation, but the Award and its unique reputation with employers, policy makers and leaders in society remain unchanged and consistent. To date, over 8 million young people have started their Award and begun their journey to a brighter future.

Who can join?

The Award is available to all young people aged 14 to 24. It is voluntary, non-competitive, enjoyable and balanced, and requires sustained effort over time. The Award encourages young people to design their own programme of activities, set their own goals and challenge themselves to achieve their aims.

What is involved?

There are three levels to the Award:

Bronze – For those over 14 years, 6 months minimum participation.

Silver– For those over 15 years, 12 months minimum participation.

Gold – For those over 16 years, 18 months minimum participation.

Each level of the Award has four sections:

Service – Participants volunteer in their communities, make a positive contribution to society and demonstrate social responsibility.

Physical recreation – Encourages young people to improve their fitness and performance, and enjoy healthy lifestyles for good mental and physical well-being.

Skills – Enables participants to develop their talents, broaden their abilities, increase their self-confidence and improve their employability.

Adventurous journey – Young people discover a spirit of adventure and gain a deeper understanding of the environment and the great outdoors.

At Gold level only:

Residential Project – Participants broaden their experience by staying in an unfamiliar environment with other young people, taking part in a worthwhile project and building new relationships.